Smart Computational Imaging (SCI) Lab


【SPIE.】SPIE Announces 2022 Scholarship Recipients

发表时间:2022-05-18 11:40作者:SPIE.来源

SPIE awarded $293,000 in optics and photonics education scholarships to 78 outstanding SPIE Student Members, based on their potential contribution to optics and photonics, or a related discipline. Award-winning applicants were evaluated and selected and approved by the SPIE Scholarship Committee.

Since the program began, SPIE has distributed over $6 million dollars in individual scholarships. This ambitious effort reflects the Society's commitment to education and to the next generation of optical scientists and engineers around the world. Individual awards range from $3,000 to $11,000.

Kate Medicus, the 2022 Scholarship Committee Chair, noted, "Congratulations to the winners of the SPIE 2022 Education Scholarships! The committee has recognized these students for their potential for long term contribution to the field of optics and photonics. The accomplishments of these students are truly impressive and I look forward to seeing them grow in their careers in optics and photonics. Thank you to all the applicants and those who wrote recommendation letters. I also thank the committee and the SPIE staff that worked hard to complete the application reviews."


Matthew Cooper

The SPIE D.J. Lovell Scholarship was awarded to Matthew Cooper, CREOL, The College of Optics and Photonics, Univ. of Central Florida (USA) This is the Society's largest and most prestigious scholarship and is sponsored by SPIE.

Anishkumar Soman

Anishkumar Soman, Univ. of Delaware (USA), was awarded the John Kiel Scholarship which was established to honor SPIE founding member John Kiel, in recognition of his long-standing and significant contributions to the Society. This scholarship is sponsored by SPIE and is awarded for the student's potential for long-term contribution to the field of optics and optical engineering.

Kamal Rudra

The Laser Technology, Engineering and Applications Scholarship was awarded to Kamal Rudra, Univ. of Michigan (USA). This scholarship is awarded in recognition of a student's scholarly achievement in laser technology, engineering, or applications. Funds are provided in part by SPIE.

Yao Fan

Yao Fan, Nanjing Univ. of Science and Technology (China), is the recipient of the Teddi Laurin Scholarship. Photonics Media is partnering with SPIE to fund the Teddi Laurin Scholarship to raise awareness of optics and photonics and to foster growth and success in the photonics industry by supporting students involved in photonics. This scholarship is in memory of Laurin Publishing and Photonics Media founder Teddi Laurin.

SCILab 官方公众号
SCILab 官方B站